數以百計新雲端服務和邊緣應用將在新的5G骨幹網路上執行。例如;即時的通訊可以大幅度改善車輛運行的安全性和交通流量。醫療業者可以遠端監控病患,使用AI進行準確的診斷,讓醫院可以更可靠地運作。製造業者則是使用5G網路來管理高效能的智慧工廠,而零售商則可以為客戶創造無縫的購物體驗。
然而,儘管5G革新有望實現超高速,低延遲和更高的可靠性傳輸,但它也仰賴更全面的基礎架構革新,新一代光纖,網路線,Wi-Fi和短距離技術的演進也正在不斷發展中。

從雲端開放到邊緣

眾所周知,隨著5G時代的來臨,整個的產業正快速的從公有雲和私有雲擴展到電信機房(Central Office),再拓展到包含無線接取網絡(Radio Access Network)的邊緣運算。邊緣運算的概念提供了許多前所未見的新形態應用程式,例如即時人工智慧等等。
邊緣運算可減少虛擬實境/遊戲的封包延遲,而大幅地改善用戶體驗。這些例子證明了雲端運算和邊緣運算的基礎架構必須根據新應用的需求來調整甚至革新。
某些為了電信用途部署的電信機房也可以同時部署邊緣應用,因此電信機房和MEC解決方案會重疊。緯穎提供給電信機房和邊緣運算相同的解決方案不僅可簡化產品SKU,還可以減少架構成本和營運費用。

因應 5G 應用而生的 AI 與邊緣運算產品

多接取邊緣運算(MEC)是一種網路解決方案,可提供更接近用戶的服務和運算功能,以減少服務延遲並提高品質。MEC在邊緣即時處理資訊、更快反應、並提供給使用者較好的服務體驗。

挑戰

物理和環境限制
  • 對服務供應商而言,為了將最佳化的解決方案部署到邊緣基地台或更靠近用戶的位置,他們必須將電信網路架設在不同的地點,而這些不同的地點通常都有不同的物理環境的挑戰,如空間、電力的消耗及嚴苛的環境等。
各種5G應用的多樣化
  • 為了提供AR / VR,IoT和自駕車等服務,而又不受少數系統供應商用專有軟硬體給綁定。電信商/服務供應商必須安裝具有靈活配置,可滿足各種新應用需求和動態流量模式的系統。

好處

服務提供商必須利用分解式的硬體和軟體再同時搭配SDN和NFV技術,才能滿足各種新應用和環境的需求,緯穎提供的MEC解決方案提供短機殼設計,具有I / O配置靈活性和模組化功能,可有效的幫助服務提供商解決5G和Edge的挑戰。

架構

在蜂巢式網路的邊緣部署 MEC 主機

ETSI制定了MEC的技術標準,包括了MEC主機的元件和功能要素。MEC主機的基礎架構包含硬體資源和虛擬層。MEC平台則可以承載應用,以及應用所需的虛擬管理和應用平台管理服務。

佈署情境

ETSI描繪了一些MEC佈署在行動網路,廣義來說是在任何邊緣網路上,可實現雲端運算和新的IT服務環境。在更接近客戶之處運行MEC應用並處理任務,還能有效利用無線接取、網路資源。MEC解決方案也能將服務提供者將創新的應用和服務更靈活、快速地佈署到行動用戶,企業和垂直領域市場裡。

產品

EP100 / EP120

最適用5G CU / DU / 5GC / MEC和私有5G環境的多功能平台

  • 用於邊緣運算環境的 3U 短機箱和前端存取設計
  • 參與 ONF Aether 計畫
  • 靈活的抽屜伺服器設計,適用於各種抽屜選項
  • 集中式電源以提高能源效率
  • 以 OpenRMC 為基礎的系統管理
產品頁面
規格手冊
觀看影片

ES200

為 MEC 量身打造的伺服器,可彈性配置適用於各種邊緣運算

  • 短機箱設計易於佈署於邊緣環境
  • 內建 AI 加速帶來無與倫比的性能
  • 可靈活配置進行各種包含 AI 工作負載的邊緣運算
  • 符合 NEBS-3 認證標準的嚴苛條件
  • 可熱插拔的電源供應器、風扇與前置 I/O,便於替換

高密度 1U2Node 伺服器,具備靈活的系統配置,適用於運算密集的工作負載

  • 最佳化的系統架構適用於運算密集的工作負載
  • 增強的記憶體和最佳化的散熱解決方案
  • 無痛升級執行 AI 推理加速
  • 通用機殼所帶來的靈活系統配置
  • 模組系統和通用配件所帶來更好的總體擁有成本
  • 前端設計簡化維護
產品頁面
規格手冊
觀看影片

Hundreds of new cloud services and edge applications can run on this new 5G digital backbone. In transportation, real-time communication helps improve safety and traffic flow for vehicles. Healthcare providers can monitor patients by remote, use AI to make accurate diagnoses, and help hospitals run more smoothly. Manufacturers can use 5G networks to run high-efficiency smart factories while retailers can create seamless experiences for customers.
While promising ultra-high speeds, low latency, and greater reliability, 5G revolution is but part of the story as there’s also an evolution in existing technologies with new generations of fiber, cable, Wi-Fi, and short-range technologies.

Open from Cloud to Edge

As most of you are aware, with the upcoming of the 5G era, our industry is quickly expanding from Public and Private Cloud to Central Office (CO), and to Edge at Radio Access Network (RAN). The availability of edge computing offers lots of previously unavailable applications such as real-time artificial intelligence and others.
The edge computing can dramatically improve user experience through cases like virtual reality games by decreasing its latency. These cases, however, show that Cloud and Edge infrastructure must adapt and evolve according to the demand of these applications.
Some of the Central Office requirements may apply to edge applications as well, hence, the overlap in the central office and the edge solutions we are offering. Offering the same solutions for Central Office and Edge simplifies the product SKUs and reduces the CAP and OP expenses.

AI / Edge Products for 5G Fueled Applications

Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) is a network solution that provides services and computing functions closer to users to minimize latency and maximize efficiency.
It delivers ultra-responsive service experiences by rapidly processing content at the edge of the network.

CHALLENGES

Physical and Environmental Restrictions
  • Service networks distributed to different physical sites locations including both remote and centralized sites to various degrees, form physical challenges such as space, power consumption, and harsh environments to service providers in deploying optimized solution to edge sites or closer to where data is generated.
Diversity of Various 5G Applications
  • Service providers require systems with flexible configurations for various applications requirements and dynamic traffic patterns to fit the use cases of AR/VR, IOT, and autonomous vehicles alike simultaneously while not being restrained by proprietary solutions dominated by limited solution providers.

BENEFITS

By utilizing disaggregated hardware and software with SDN and NFV to meet service providers’ needs for diverse applications and deployment environments, Wiwynn provides MEC solutions based on short chassis design with I/O configuration flexibility and modularity to solve the challenges of 5G and Edge.

ARCHITECTURE

Deploy MEC Host at The Edge of Cellular Network

Technical standards for MEC are developed by ETSI, which also defined the components and functional elements of MEC host. The MEC hosting infrastructure consists of hardware resources and a virtualization layer. The MEC platform provides the capabilities for hosting applications and consists of the application’s virtualization manager and application platform services.

Deployment Scenarios of MEC Servers

ETSI depicted some deployment scenarios of MEC that enables cloud computing capabilities and an IT service environment at the edge of the cellular network and, more in general at the edge of any network. To run MEC applications to perform processing tasks closer to the customers can have efficient utilization of the radio and the network resources. MEC also enables flexible and rapid deployment of innovative applications and services towards mobile subscribers, enterprises and vertical segments.

PRODUCTS

EP100 / EP120

The Best All-in-one Platform for 5G CU/DU/5GC/MEC and Private 5G Environment

  • 3U Short-Depth Chassis and Front Service for Edge Computing Environment
  • ONF Aether Project
  • Flexible Sled Design for Various Sled Options
  • Pooled Power Supply for Energy Efficiency
  • OpenRMC Based System Management
Webpage
Datasheet
Animation

ES200

The Tailored-made MEC Server with Flexible Configurations for Various Edge Applications

  • Short Chassis for Edge Deploy Environment
  • Pervasive Performance with Built-in AI Acceleration
  • Flexible Configuration for Various Edge Computing including AI Workloads
  • Compliance with NEBS-3 for Challenging Harsh Conditions
  • Hot-swappable PSU & FAN and Front I/O for Easy Services

High density 1U2Node server with versatile system configurations for compute intensive workloads

  • Optimized System Architecture for Compute Intensive Workloads
  • Enhanced Memory and Optimized Thermal Solution
  • Painless Upgrade for AI Inference
  • Versatile System Configurations with Universal Enclosure
  • Better TCO from Modularized System and Common Parts
  • Front Access Design to Simplify Maintenance
Webpage
Datasheet
Animation