數以百計新雲端服務和邊緣應用將在新的5G骨幹網路上執行。例如;即時的通訊可以大幅度改善車輛運行的安全性和交通流量。醫療業者可以遠端監控病患,使用AI進行準確的診斷,讓醫院可以更可靠地運作。製造業者則是使用5G網路來管理高效能的智慧工廠,而零售商則可以為客戶創造無縫的購物體驗。
然而,儘管5G革新有望實現超高速,低延遲和更高的可靠性傳輸,但它也仰賴更全面的基礎架構革新,新一代光纖,網路線,Wi-Fi和短距離技術的演進也正在不斷發展中。

從雲端開放到邊緣

眾所周知,隨著5G時代的來臨,整個的產業正快速的從公有雲和私有雲擴展到電信機房(Central Office),再拓展到包含無線接取網絡(Radio Access Network)的邊緣運算。邊緣運算的概念提供了許多前所未見的新形態應用程式,例如即時人工智慧等等。
邊緣運算可減少虛擬實境/遊戲的封包延遲,而大幅地改善用戶體驗。這些例子證明了雲端運算和邊緣運算的基礎架構必須根據新應用的需求來調整甚至革新。
某些為了電信用途部署的電信機房也可以同時部署邊緣應用,因此電信機房和MEC解決方案會重疊。緯穎提供給電信機房和邊緣運算相同的解決方案,不僅可簡化產品SKU,還可以減少架構成本和營運費用。

電信商所需的5G 無線接取網路 / 核心產品

5G的虛擬無線接取網絡(vRAN)解決方案是行動網路革新的關鍵步驟,有望大幅增加連結裝置容量,顯著降低成本並提升使用者的體驗。

挑戰

多種服務標準及更高的基地台密度
  • 為了有效執行新的應用如雲端線上遊戲,AR / VR和智慧工廠,電信業者需要擁有更靈活的架構來發展其行動網絡,以處理大量數據,大量的物聯網設備和超低延遲需求。傳統的專有系統解決方案已經無法執行新的應用,同時也會導致昂貴的營運成本。
  • 用於 5G 網路(Sub-6G和mmWave)的頻譜均高於現有的 4G LTE 網絡。要達到相同的信號覆蓋範圍,將需要搭建比4G時代更多的基站。
  • 同時也必須將多樣化的存取技術,例如毫米波(mmWave)無線電,LTE 和 WiFi 集中在同一個位置。

如何導入高性價比、靈活又充滿彈性的 5G 網路是目前每個電信業者的當務之急。

好處

虛擬無線接取網絡(vRAN)搭配現成的 COTS伺服器可造就出一個彈性、靈活及性價比的 5G 網路

電信業者架構新型態網路的一種方式是採用虛擬無線電接取網路(vRAN),該技術將轉化專用的基地台為更彈性的基地台,以軟體為主,更靈活和高性價比的基地台。

5G時代的基地台可分為三部分:無線單元(Radio Unit),分散式單元(Distributed Unit)和集中式單元(Centralized Unit)。分散式和集中式單元可用商用現成的(Commercial Off-The-Shelf)伺服器部署虛擬化的網路,並可帶來以下好處:

由於需要維護的硬體零件更少,並且可以用更少的人力遠端管理軟體,因此可以更進一步節省CAPEX和OPEX成本。

架構

以 NFV 為基礎架構的 5G vRAN 堆疊架構

3GPP R15已經標準化了接取網路 (RAN) 的上半部與下半部。將5G基地台分為無線單元(Radio Unit),分散式單元(Distributed Unit)和集中式單元(Centralized Unit)。 分散式和集中式單元可用商用現成的伺服器和虛擬化網路功能一起部署。電信業者可簡化資源使用的新功能和演算法的部署。

一個分散式單元 (Distributed Unit) 可以透過不同頻段的各種存取技術(包括5G NR和4G LTE)支持多個無線單元 (Radio Unit)。搭配FPGA卡或GPU加速卡的x86伺服器可以即時處理大量數位訊號,以執行CPRI到eCPRI的轉換。

產品

EP100 / EP120

最適用5G CU / DU / 5GC / MEC和私有5G環境的多功能平台

  • 用於邊緣運算環境的 3U 短機箱和前端存取設計
  • 參與ONF Aether 計畫
  • 靈活的抽屜伺服器設計,適用於各種抽屜選項
  • 集中式電源以提高能源效率
  • 以 OpenRMC 為基礎的系統管理
產品頁面
規格手冊
觀看影片

參考

5G NSA Livedemo

5G NSA Livedemo

vRAN Solution with NVFI

vRAN Solution with NVFI

Hundreds of new cloud services and edge applications can run on this new 5G digital backbone. In transportation, real-time communication helps improve safety and traffic flow for vehicles. Healthcare providers can monitor patients by remote, use AI to make accurate diagnoses, and help hospitals run more smoothly. Manufacturers can use 5G networks to run high-efficiency smart factories while retailers can create seamless experiences for customers.
While promising ultra-high speeds, low latency, and greater reliability, 5G revolution is but part of the story as there’s also an evolution in existing technologies with new generations of fiber, cable, Wi-Fi, and short-range technologies.

Open from Cloud to Edge

As most of you are aware, with the upcoming of the 5G era, our industry is quickly expanding from Public and Private Cloud to Central Office (CO), and to Edge at Radio Access Network (RAN). The availability of edge computing offers lots of previously unavailable applications such as real-time artificial intelligence and others.
The edge computing can dramatically improve user experience through cases like virtual reality games by decreasing its latency. These cases, however, show that Cloud and Edge infrastructure must adapt and evolve according to the demand of these applications.
Some of the Central Office requirements may apply to edge applications as well, hence, the overlap in the central office and the edge solutions we are offering. Offering the same solutions for Central Office and Edge simplifies the product SKUs and reduces the CAP and OP expenses.

5G RAN/Core Products for CoSP

5G Virtualized Radio Access Network (vRAN) Solution is the critical step for mobile networks evolution, promising to intelligently boost capacity, dramatically reduce costs, and enhance your experience.

CHALLENGES

Multiple Service Criteria and Base Station Densities Required
  • To accommodate new applications, such as cloud gaming, AR/VR and smart factories, operators will need to evolve their mobile networks with flexible architectures to handle vast amounts of data, massive IoT devices and ultra-low latency demand. Legacy proprietary solutions are not enough and result in high operational costs.
  • The spectrums used for 5G network, both sub-6G and mmWave, are higher than existing 4G LTE network. This requires much more base stations than it used to be in 4G era to reach the same signal coverage.
  • Centralizing multiple access technologies such as millimeter wave (mmWave) radios, LTE and WiFi in one location will also be necessary.

Introducing a flexible and agile 5G network with a cost effective solution is an imperative topic for each operator.

BENEFITS

vRAN with Cots Servers Enable A Flexible, Agile and Cost Effective 5g Network

One way that operators are looking to modernize the network is to adopt the virtualized radio access network (vRAN) which transforms the notion of proprietary hardware-based base stations into software-based that are more flexible, agile, and cost-effective.

The base stations in 5G era can be divided into three parts: radio unit (RU), distributed unit (DU) and centralized unit (CU). DU and CU and be deployed with commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) servers and virtualized network functions to bring benefits including:

The CAPEX and OPEX cost can be further saved since there are less hardware SKUs to maintain and the software defined functions can be managed remotely with less manpower.

ARCHITECTURE

5G vRAN Stacks Based on NFV Infrastructure

3GPP R15 has standardized the separation of the upper from the lower parts of the RAN. The base stations in 5G era can be divided into three parts: radio unit (RU), distributed unit (DU) and centralized unit (CU). DU and CU and be deployed with COTS servers and virtualized network functions. Operators can simplify the deployment of new features and algorithms for streamlining resource usage.

One DU can support multiple RUs with multiple access technologies including 5G NR and 4G LTE in different bands. Power x86 servers with FPGA or GPU based accelerators can process large amounts of digital signals processing in real-time to perform the CPRI-to-eCPRI conversion.

PRODUCTS

EP100 / EP120

The Best All-in-one Platform for 5G CU/DU/5GC/MEC and Private 5G Environment

  • 3U Short-Depth Chassis and Front Service for Edge Computing Environment
  • ONF Aether Project Demo in ONF Booth
  • Flexible Sled Design for Various Sled Options
  • Pooled Power Supply for Energy Efficiency
  • OpenRMC Based System Management
Webpage
Datasheet
Animation

REFERENCE

5G NSA Livedemo

5G NSA Livedemo

vRAN Solution with NVFI

vRAN Solution with NVFI

Wiwynn and WNC 5G Solutions Briefing
How the Future Looks with 5G and AI